“Yes, you did laugh.”

The other day I was reading through scripture, when I read something I had never noticed before. This is not a rarity, so you might read that certain comment a lot! Ha! Back to my point . . .  I was reading Genesis, when I came across chapter 18. Here, Abraham was met by the LORD (covenant maker and keeper) at the entrance to his tent. This is where the LORD reveals to Abraham that Sarah will have a child.

10 Then one of them said, “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah your wife will have a son.”

Now Sarah was listening at the entrance to the tent, which was behind him. 11 Abraham and Sarah were already very old, and Sarah was past the age of childbearing. 12 So Sarah laughed to herself as she thought, “After I am worn out and my lord is old, will I now have this pleasure?”

13 Then the LORD said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Will I really have a child, now that I am old?’ 14 Is anything too hard for the LORD? I will return to you at the appointed time next year, and Sarah will have a son.”

15 Sarah was afraid, so she lied and said, “I did not laugh.”

But he said, “Yes, you did laugh.”

It hit me – HARD – when I read that Sarah laughed, and how the LORD called her out on it! I know, personally, I have heard from the LORD before and laughed at what he was preparing me for. Not because I was laughing at him, but because of my situation at the time or just how I think I know myself. I laughed when the LORD called me to sing. Really, I did. I had not held a microphone (at the time) since I was probably 10 or 11. I was 25. HA! Use me now???  I had been told before that a “choir” setting was best for me. Imagine my thought process when God says that I will be used in worship. I was self conscious, still am, and I just KNEW that I would embarrass myself. BUT, just as the LORD said “Is anything to hard for the LORD?” to Sarah, he said the same to me. Just as Sarah had a pregnancy, in a way, so did I.  My spiritual self had to grow and be nurtured by the LORD before this dream could be birthed.

Why do we feel it necessary to question the LORD? He IS our covenant maker and keeper. What he says is truth. He is NOT man, he is perfect – as are his promises. I do not ever want to laugh at the LORD’s promises. I know this will be hard, because I tend to doubt myself. But, with that being said, it is not ME who is doing the work. It is my LORD.

I challenge you to pray for God to give you a “God Dream” (Chase the Lion, the Lion’s manifesto, Mark Batterson) . One that you know you would laugh at, and only the LORD could bring to fruition.  Then, let him AMAZE you!

(On a side note, we have 5 inches and the snow is STILL falling!)

Much love and many blessings!!!!

1 thought on ““Yes, you did laugh.”

  1. Love it! i looked it up, too. That is so cool to me, reminder that sarah is just like us. for some reason sometimes people in the bible seem like some foreign strange people, but in reality, they are just like us: human

Leave a comment